Are You Really Shopping Local?

I hear so many times from locally owned businesses time and time again, “I only shop local.” “I support local businesses.” “I only invest in local companies & avenues.” …etc. And then I analyze their marketing. I can’t help but be a little stumped at how someone – especially a local business owner – can preach “shop local” this and “support local businesses” that, yet they’re funneling their dollars into big name conglomerates. Confused yet? So was I, until I did some digging as to why these business owners would even think to invest even one cent outside their community! And here’s what I found:

They came into your shop – a real live person! They weren’t trying to sell or hassle you over the phone. They were friendly, selling that smile and saying, well, of course I’m local, look I’m right here!

Sure, the sales rep is local, but what about the company he/she works for?

Many of these conglomerate media companies are catching on to the shop-local bug and realizing Small Town, USA can’t stand the big city companies and their way of doing business. They’re wising up and sending in “remote” or “outside” salespersons to pose as a local company. Heck, they may even invest in a local brand name! (They’ve got enough money to do it!)

In reality your local small business is dumping its hard-earned revenue back into the big wig’s pockets. Companies worth billions and billions of dollars are city wolves in small-town sheep’s clothing.

Be careful who you do your marketing with. You can’t clearly say that you, as a local business owner, only invest in local businesses, when you’re pouring your money into the pockets of a multi-billion dollar company!!

Leave a comment